Tempus Fugit or: How Hard It Is To Stop Goofing Off and Make Time to Write

I admit it: I’m easily distracted. And, right now, there’s so much to distract myself with. From work to television shows, husband time to exercise – and, of course, youtube videos, facebook, and other internet black holes.

With all that going on, I continue to struggle to find time to write. Or, perhaps more accurately, to make time. And I know that I’m not the only one with this issue. However, I am getting better. For instance, this weekend, I wrote about 4,000 words in my Avery Bennett manuscript.

AP_Blog_JCHewitt-quote

I was blown away while, in the midst of making excuses, I learned that the writer Jeff Wheeler – the author of the Muirwood trilogy that I praised so highly a few months ago – only writes from 7PM to 10PM Wednesday evenings.

That’s it. That’s all. But during those three hours, he gets those words typed up and ends up writing about a book a year. A-mazing.

We all have ways to deal with motivating ourselves to write. Some people bribe themselves with treats (whether culinary, retail, or otherwise). Others turn off their wireless internet to avoid temptation. Others have strict word count goals. And – one of my favorite tactics – others pour themselves a glass of wine before they sit down at the computer. Another thing that works like a charm for me is free-writing to get the creative juices flowing. That’s how I came up with this post for the Compendia, the other blog I’m a part of.

But I think that the most impactful thing I’ve heard about time management while writing goes something like this: how you spend your time reflects your priorities. So, along with word count goals, I’ve decided to set aside specific times each week to write. I won’t watch tv, go grocery shopping, walk to Starbucks with my husband – nothing. I’ll simply write. Because if I want others to take it seriously, I have to, too.

So, go do what you love and make your passion a priority!

One thought on “Tempus Fugit or: How Hard It Is To Stop Goofing Off and Make Time to Write

Leave a Reply

