Beginning Again

Now, this is a weird feeling. For the first time since last January, when I first decided that I was going to write a book, I didn’t have anything on my “Augira To Do List” for today. I finished the third draft on Sunday, and now I’m in a holding pattern as I await critiques from my alpha readers.

And it’s weird!

I sat at my computer, completely at a loss. I hardly knew what to do with myself. Okay, well, I should have been working on my next story, but, you know…

Anyway, Augira popped up in the critters queue this afternoon (not midnight, like I’d thought). While I wait patiently – NOT! – for critiques, I really need to kick myself into gear with my next novel while I wait. No sense in getting rusty, right?

Speaking of next novels: I’ve made a decision. For a while, I had been going back and forth about whether I should work on a sequel to Augira or something else. My arguments went something like this: If I write a sequel, then I would be able to talk about two books with publishers/agents (and my plan for a trilogy), instead of just the one. But, if Augira totally bombs and no one wants it, I don’t want to be stuck holding two books that don’t work. On the other hand, if I write something new, I may be wasting my time because someone might love Augira and not want this other piece. But, this other book could be even better than Augira and might be my breakout novel.

In the end, I decided to go with creating something new and entirely different. Not only have I thought of a new magic system, but I’ve also decided that I want to go with a first-person perspective instead. Woah! That’s madness! …Oh yes, I know. 😀 But, in my ever-valuable internet research findings, someone wrote in passing about how important it is to write something that we are excited about, something that moves us. And, honestly, I think I need an Augira break.

Beginnings are both terrifying and exhilarating, aren’t they? Let’s hope that you are ready to start all over with me!

Leave a Reply

