A Reflection on Satisfying Endings and My Magic System

I just finished Jim Butcher’s Cursor’s Fury, book three of the Alera Codex series. Like the ending to the first Stormlight Chronicles installment by Brandon Sanderson, the ending was supremely satisfying. As I read and write concurrently, I am so incredibly moved by endings that fulfill all of the promises made early on, especially when they do so through the underdog-esque success of my favorite characters. I’m trying so intently to learn from these authors and how they manage to pull it off.

We’ll see if I can manage it!

In other news, I’m thinking of changing the names of my magic and magic-wielding individuals. It’s a debate between keeping Augiri (mages) and Auri (magic – in this case, a person’s innate life force) and changing the terms to lifemages and anima, respectively. Does “lifemage” sound too hokey?

Leave a Reply

