What Denouement?

I have to say, I was able to pace myself using my outline pretty darn well until recently. I suspected I might have this problem, but I detailed my climax so well in my outline that, now that I finished that part, I’m 8,000 words short of my goal. I’m working on the denouement, but, man, what can you really say after a big, climactic battle-type scene?

How about:

“Umm, well, I guess we ought to ride off into the sunset now…” he said dubiously, surveying the carnage around them.

“Yes,” she agreed. “It’s unclear whether or not the author thought about how best to tie things up after her oh-so-important climax, so maybe we’ll have to wait until the sequel to clean up all these dead bodies. Boy, they are going to smell pretty soon!” Her nose wrinkled in distaste.

“But, surely we don’t have to stay here until then? I mean, come on, she has to have a few ideas about what happens between now and her recently hatched idea for a second novel. Right?”

“Well, we can hope so. I, for one, could use a nice, hot bath. Fantasy novels are exhausting! Why, I don’t think I’ve been given a decent night’s sleep in, oh, at least a week. You know, romance novels never have this problem. I hear all the characters get at least one decent night’s sleep a week – and I have a friend in a regency romance, so she should know.”

“That’s not the only thing those characters are getting once a week, am I right?” He waggled his eyebrows lecherously.

“Oh, good Lord,” she sighed, rolling her eyes. “I may ride off by myself at this rate. Men!” She continued to grumble about the other sex as the curtain dropped and the scene faded to black.

JUST KIDDING. Gotcha. πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “What Denouement?

  1. LOLOL!!! OK, I needed that. I’m very interested in what you’re working on so you’ll have to let me know when it will be in print so I can check it out!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

