A Dose of Reality

Listening to podcasts (i.e. Writing Excuses) and reading author’s websites (i.e. Brandon Sanderson’s page, David Farland’s page) has been really helpful throughout the writing process.  It’s also been moderately depressing.

The truth is, writing is just a part of it.  I’m starting to look at publishers, thinking about online followers, and mulling over ebook possibilities.  There’s a lot to think about besides whether or not my fantasy novel can handle an antagonist with Dissociative Identity Disorder (previously known as Multiple Personality Disorder).

Researching the business side of writing has also given me a better idea of the timeline.  Originally, I joked (okay, somewhat seriously) that I would be accepting a deal with a publisher by Christmas.  Well, that’s probably not going to happen.  A lot of the publishers that I’m planning to submit to take 4-6 months to get back to you once you land on their slush piles.

So, if I finish my rough draft of Augira by September 15th, that means I’ll be waiting (and working, blarg) until February before I start neurotically searching mailboxes both physical and digital for a response.  However, I’m not discouraged.

Sure, the process takes longer than I thought it might, but, hey, what better time to work on the sequel?

P.S.  I am 15% done with Augira‘s rough draft!  WOOHOO!  I’m starting to pick up speed, and I may actually finish before my deadline!

Leave a Reply

